Project 4: Montage

P4MontageHelamanJuarez

Description: This is a montage of a lion and Angelina Jolie’s face, on a field of tall grass. It’s supposed to have a spiritual message. Be strong like a lion.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, Steps taken while designing): First I looked up images of a lion and a face that was long enough to be closely symmetrical to the lion’s features. I found a background image as well. I set the background image on an 8.5 in. by 11in. sheet on Adobe Photoshop. I then embedded the image of the lion and the image of Angelina Jolie’s face as well. I then clicked on the Angelina’s face and made a masking layer. I then used the brush tool to blend in her face as tastefully as I could. I then did the same for the lion to try to blend it into the background image. I then looked up a quote and wrote it on the side. I rearranged and aligned the text in an artful way.

Message: The message is supposed to be spiritual. It’s supposed to encourage inner strength and self-worth and self-courage and motivation.

Audience: My audience is the general public. Anywhere from 12 to 40 years old. For those who encounter stress more.

Top Thing Learned: I learned how to gradually and artfully blend multiple images together in a visual appealing manner.

Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied: I used filters on the background. I made it a little bit more dark in brightness so that my blended lion and the face would stick out more.

Color scheme and color names: Complimentary – Orange/Blue

Copy Font Name & Category: Open Sans Condensed Bold, Sans Serif Slab

Bold Words Font Name & Category: VTKS WORKER Regular, Sans Serif Slab

Thumbnails of Images used:

Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site):

Lion

http://vignette4.wikia.nocookie.net/animalcrossing/images/e/e3/Lion-013-2048×2048.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20130406213028

Angelina Jolie

http://cdn1.ouchpress.com/media/celebrities/2/angelina-jolie-2294.jpg

Tall Grass

http://www.photos-public-domain.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/tall_autumn_grass.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “Project 4: Montage

  1. Hi Helaman! Not going to lie, I got super excited when I noticed the photo of Angelina Jolie in your montage. I’m impressed with the smooth transition of the the lion with the human. There’s not awkward alignment so the positioning is just right. You’re typography in your message is spot on. I love the creative usage of thinking outside the box of bringing the different fonts and a small hint of line to bring out the message. Here’s an example of my typography and montage to help you inspired for the future. https://amyksingh.wordpress.com/2016/05/29/project-4-montage/

  2. I knew right off the bat that that was Angelina Jolie! I guess I must be a fan of hers. I like the images that you chose because each one is crisp and clear and gives me sense of wild energy and power. The blend and position of Angelina and the Lion are spot on. I feel like I was out hunting in the savanna and this lion popped up, transformed into Angelina, and then told me to knock it off.
    Check out mine! https://jleonardsite.wordpress.com/2016/05/29/project-4-montage/

Leave a Reply

