Teleprompter Speech Script

MY NAME IS HELAMAN JUAREZ. I AM 21 YEARS OLD AND I AM FROM CHICAGO ILLINOIS. DESPITE BEING FROM ILLINOIS, I GO TO UNIVERSITY ONE THOUSAND AND FOUR HUNDRED MILES AWAY FROM HOME IN REXBURG, IDAHO. MANY FRIENDS AND TEACHERS FROM BACK HOME ASKED ME WHY I CHOSE TO GO SO FAR AWAY FOR SCHOOL. I TOLD THEM THAT ASIDE FROM BEING THE LEAST EXPENSIVE UNIVERSITY IN ALL OF THE UNITED STATES, I CHOSE TO COME TO THIS SCHOOL BECAUSE IT HAS BECOME PART OF MY FAMILY.

 

I HAVE HAD TWO OLDER SISTERS COME, ATTEND, AND GRADUATE FROM THIS UNIVERSITY. MY FATHER IS FURTHERING HIS SCHOOLING AT BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY IDAHO AS WELL. HE IS JUST DOING IT ALL ONLINE FROM HOME. MY RELATIONSHIP TO THE UNIVERSITY DOES NOT START WITH THEM. IT ACTUALLY STARTED WHEN I WAS IN MIDDLE SCHOOL. I VISITED THIS UNIVERSITY MORE THAN A COUPLE OF TIMES WHEN I WAS IN MIDDLE SCHOOL. I VISITED OVER THE SUMMER THROUGH A YOUTH CAMP. I LEARNED AND SAW SO MUCH AT THAT CAMP. IN THAT CAMP WE HAD COUNSELORS THAT WERE ALL SOCIOLOGY MAJORS AT BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY IDAHO. THEY WERE SUCH A GREAT EXAMPLE TO ME OF GOOD PEOPLE AND WHAT I WANTED TO BE DOING WHEN I WAS IN COLLEGE.

 

BACK HOME IN CHICAGO IT WASNT SO GREAT GOING TO SCHOOL. THERE WAS A LOT OF BAD INFLUENCES AND VIOLENCE AS WELL AS A LOT OF CRITICISM I FACED ON ACCOUNT OF MY PERSONAL RELIGIOUS BELIEFS. I FELT IT IMPERATIVE THAT I NOT STAY HOME FOR UNIVERSITY. IF I WAS GOING TO HAVE A SUCCESSFUL FUTURE IT WAS NOT GOING TO BE IN CHICAGO. I APPLIED TO BYUI AND I WAS EXCEPTED. I GOT WHAT I WANTED WHEN I ATTENDED MY FRESHMAN YEAR. AND TO MY SURPRISE I GOT SOME EXTRA THINGS THAT I DID NOT THINK I WOULD GET WHILE BEING THERE.

 

THIS UNIVERSITY WAS SO SPECIAL TO ME. I WAS ABLE TO PUBLISH MY PHOTOGRAPHY IN THE NEWSPAPER. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE PROFESSIONAL QUALITY NEWS SEGMENTS FOR THE ONLINE NEWS. I WAS ABLE TO GIVE TOURS TO FAMILIES AND FUTURE STUDENTS. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE HUNDREDS OF NEW FRIENDS. I WAS ALSO ABLE TO MAKE MORE THAN A FEW MISTAKES. I AM GLAD I MADE SOME OF THOSE MISTAKES BECAUSE THEY TAUGHT ME SO MUCH. COMING TO THIS UNIVERSITY HELPED TO PREPARE ME FOR MY MISSION FOR THE CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER DAY SAINTS.

 

THE ONE THING I HAD NO IDEA THAT WOULD CHANGE SO EASILY BECAUSE OF ATTENDING BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY IDAHO AND SERVING A FULL TIME MISSION OF THE CHURCH WAS HOW HUMBLE IT HAS MADE ME. I WAS A VERY PRIDEFUL PERSON. I DID NOT LIKE TO LISTEN TO ADVICE OF OTHER PEOPLE. I DID NOT LIKE TO HELP OTHERS THAT I WOULD HAVE TO GO OUT OF MY WAY FOR.

 

ALL THAT HAS CHANGED. I NOW CARE PASSIONATELY AND DEEPLY ABOUT ALL THOSE THAT ARE AROUND ME. I HAVE GONE FROM A MAN IN THE WORLD TO A MAN THAT GODS SPIRIT IS WORKING ON. I PLAN TO BECOME THE DISCIPLE THAT THIS SCHOOL TELLS ME I CAN BE AND THAT I WAS FULL TIME IN THE MISSION. I HOPE MY CHILDREN COME HERE. THIS UNIVERSITY IS A CATALYST OF CHANGE IN PERSONALITY AND IN HEART. IT BLESSES THE LIVES OF THE STUDENTS TO BLESS THE LIVES OF PEOPLE IN THE WORLD.

Leave a Reply

